My Take on the Selma Snub

Let me begin this by saying that I haven’t seen Selma yet.  So I can’t offer any kind of critique of the acting, directing, writing or any other film making aspects. What I do have a few thoughts about is its place, or lack thereof, in the Oscar nominations.

I don’t know how much race plays into these things. I’m sure it did at one point though. I know that since 1939, the year Hattie McDaniel became the first black actor to be nominated, there have been 1,520 actors nominated for Oscars. 74 of them have been black. 15 were winners. Of those 15 winners, 9 came since 2001. Do with that what you will. It’s just facts. Numbers. What that means it up to you.

Where I am most concerned is the Academy’s inconsistency with Selma. First, let’s just disregard the best original song nomination. It isn’t a representation of the film. Pearl Harbor, Ted and Babe: Pig in the City all had songs nominated for Oscars. So for this discussion I want to look at Selma as a movie with just a single, solitary Academy Award nomination. And that nomination is for best picture. This is where I’m struggling.

Either…

Selma is one of the best pictures of the year.

OR

The acting, directing, writing, cinematography, and every other aspect of film making for which awards are given, was not even in the top 5.

It can’t be both.

Dear Academy voters, why do you think this movie is one of the best of the year? Was it the acting? Not according to the acting nominations. Was it the direction? Not according to the directing nominations? Was it the writing? You get the picture.

Again, I haven’t seen this movie so I don’t know if they blew it by nominating an average film for best picture. Or if they blew it by not nominating the film makers that made Selma one of the best pictures of the year. I’ll be seeing it soon and form my own opinion of the movie. But there’s no getting around this. One way or another, the Academy really blew it with this one.

As always, I welcome your thoughts. @CMSelby is how you do it. Or post below.

One thought on “My Take on the Selma Snub

Leave a Reply

